Introduction

Hello readers! My name is Jay and welcome to my blog.

A little background about myself:

  • I’m 19 years old
  • I graduated high school just last year (2016)
  • I’m working full-time as a “miscellaneous task” guy for a small company
  • I’m an aspiring musician and artist
  • I enjoy long walks on the beach…

A classic, overused bio cliché.  Now that’s what I’m truly about.

All jokes aside, I think the most important thing about me is my attraction towards entrepreneurship. I’m absolutely in love with the idea of being in charge of my own life, doing the things I love, and making an important impact on those who follow me.

I don’t have much under my experience belt. Probably the farthest I’ve dipped my foot in to the entrepreneurial waters was when I sold popcorn for a week at a summer camp for boy scouts back when I was 13 or 14. But other than that, I don’t have too much experience.

I’ve always been a dreamer though, and starting my own company has been a dream of mine for the longest time. I think I can date my lust for starting a business back to when I was in 4th grade when my teacher read Lawn Boy by Gary Paulsen to the entire class.

Basically (if I remember correctly),  the book was about this kid who started mowing lawns for money. After a while of doing chopping away at his neighbors’ lawns, he was able to upgrade his mower, hire a team to help him, and I’m pretty sure he was able to step away from his business entirely (correct me if I’m wrong).

That book got my 11 year old gears turning. Since then, it’s always been in the back of my mind. It wasn’t until recently when I found out that this was the path I wanted to take. Working to make other people money just isn’t my thing. Not that there’s anything wrong with it, but for me, it’s just not something I want to do for my entire life.

A couple of months ago, I started listening to some podcasts. I think I started with some eBay podcasts (can’t remember any specific names now) but shortly after, I was listening to entrepreneurship/business podcasts. Some honorable mentions include: Pat Flynn with the Smart Passive Income podcast, Nick Loper with the Side Hustle Nation podcast, and Steve Chou with the My Wife Quit Her Job podcast.

Throughout all these interviews, I kept hearing a lot of people reference this book called The 4-Hour Workweek by Tim Ferriss. While at work, I popped in my headphones and pulled up the audiobook. I absolutely loved it. Everything in that book was incredibly inspiring, I was half-tempted to quit my job right there and just figure out the rest. I decided against that, of course.

I consumed so much audio content within those couple of months, but what’s the content for if I wasn’t going to start anything of my own?

Well over the course of the past week, I’ve been writing down all my ideas on sticky notes. I’ve got about 20 ideas so far, but some of them were pretty dumb. A magnetic fidget spinner? Fidget spinner will probably die out by the time I’d be able to get in my first order. So that idea is off the table… for now.

However, I still have some pretty interesting ideas. Not going to spoil anything, but I’m hoping within the next year I’ll at least be able to launch one idea. But I suppose only the future will tell.

The reason I am starting this blog is to share my journey through the life of entrepreneurship. I’m still in the idea phase, but this blog will be a step in the right direction.

Thanks for reading! And make sure to keep an eye out for some more content in the future.

Jay

 

Leave a Reply

